The BEST Healthy Stuffed Peppers: Turkey-Quinoa

Guys, these stuffed peppers are the bomb. Soooooo good. The first time I had a stuffed pepper was during my freshman year of college. The cafe in my dorm hall made them maybe once a month. I’d seen the peppers before but hadn’t actually gotten one until I didn’t see anything else I wanted one night and I overheard another student raving about stuffed peppers.

I should have seen the light sooner.

Stuffed peppers are sooo good. My life changed. And the best part about stuffed peppers is that they’re so versatile! There are so many different recipes and different styles. My favorite so far are these healthy turkey quinoa stuffed peppers. Full of flavor and simply delicious!

Since I’m mostly just cooking for myself, I’ll buy a package of ground turkey and freeze what I’m not using. Just be sure not to squish the ground turkey together when freezing or else the consistency will be odd. I prefer to use pasta sauce over plain tomato sauce for this recipe for a few reasons: 1) I think pasta sauce has more flavor and has more choices, and 2) it’s what I usually have on hand. Feel free to add some chopped tomatoes into the recipe as well!

IMG_3734

(sorry for the poor image quality, I’ll update with better images soon!)

 

(Serves 2)

Ingredients:

  • 1 bell pepper (I switch around between the colors)
  • 8 oz ground turkey
  • 1/4 cup quinoa, uncoooked
  • 3/4 cup chicken broth/stock
  • 1/4 cup tomato sauce/ pasta sauce
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese (about)

Instructions

  1.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Heat a medium saucepan over medium/ high heat with olive oil. Saute onions and minced garlic, stirring occasionally until fragrant (a minute or so).
  2. Add ground turkey, poultry seasoning, Italian seasoning, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Allow turkey to brown, breaking apart to allow even cooking.
  3. Once turkey is almost completely browned, add in uncooked quinoa (it will cook while simmering), tomato/ pasta sauce, and 1/2 cup of broth. Stir well then cover. Let simmer over medium heat for about 15 minutes.
  4. Slice bell pepper in half, removing seeds, stem, and white membrane.
  5. Place bell peppers into an oven proof dish (I personally use a small Pyrex). Fill each pepper half with the turkey-quinoa filling. Optional: pour remaining 1/4 cup of broth into baking dish. Cover tightly with foil.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove foil and sprinkle each pepper with shredded cheese. Bake for 10 more minutes. Enjoy!

 

adapted from Love and Food Foreva

Leave a comment